So Long, Chron?

I’m not at all shocked that the San Francisco Chronicle, the paper of my adopted home town, is possibly going to be sold or shut down. I think I can count on two hands the number of times I bought the paper over the eight years that I lived there. None of my friends read it with any regularity. On most days, several front page articles were just copy from the A.P. That’s not to say that good work hasn’t been done there recently. The paper was all over the BALCO case, for example. Tim Goodman is great. Ditto Michael Bauer. Mark Marford, too. But past those things, there just wasn’t much there to hold my attention on a daily basis.

That said, I would be pretty distraught if the paper fades from the scene, if for no other reason than it would leave San Francisco without a major daily newspaper. It seems tragic that the paper that gave voice to brilliant writers like Herb Caen would just fade away, but that’s the state of the media these days. Sigh.

~ by uvasig on February 25, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
