NYC

I write the following with mixed emotions.  I have been accepted into the master’s program in journalism at the City University of New York and will be moving to New York City this fall to pursue my degree. It is a tremendous opportunity for me; having the chance to study journalism in the media capital of the world under the instruction of reporters like Jeff Jarvis and Eric Alterman is a dream come true.

The flip side of this move, though, is that will have to leave San Francisco, a place I’ve come to consider as my real home. Though the program is just around a year and half in length, it will be tough for me to not see all of the wonderful people who enrich my life on a daily basis (especially this one). I will miss the amazing views of Coit Tower and Alcatraz from my apartment and the glimpses of the Bay Bridge I see as I walk down Union Street in Russian Hill. I will miss the fog, the cold nights, the beautiful tree-lined streets all the laid back vibe. I will be back often, but it’s going to be a quite a change. However, home is where the heart is and mine will be left here in San Francisco.

~ by uvasig on April 14, 2008.

One Response to “NYC”

  1. Michael,
    We’re delighted to have you. I also made the move from SF to NY (more years ago than I’ll admit) and ended up staying.
    -jeff

Leave a comment