Disconnected

Apparently it was “Dis the Phone Day” in the blogosphere:

Yglesias: “I couldn’t be more thrilled with the phone’s decline. I used to be painfully shy as a person, and while I’ve largely gotten over that IRL I still find it incredibly stressful to talk to people on the phone.”

Atrios: “I think I enjoyed chatting with girls when I was 13 or so, but since then I’ve pretty much hated the phone.”

Alan Jacobs: “This is a loathing I share, and have for a long time.”

McMegan: “Weird fact: every single (successful) blogger I know hates talking on the phone. I’m gregarious face to face, and I’m an inveterate user of various kinds of textual messaging, but I would rather scrub my floors with a toothbrush than get on the phone.”

Let me join the forces aligned against Alexander Graham Bell’s famed invention…I hate the phone (as many people would attest), and I’m absolutely the last person anyone would call an introvert. I had to be dragged kicking and screaming into the era of text messaging, thinking it strictly a tool of the teenybopper set, but as I’ve grown accustomed to texting, I’ve found it more practical than actually calling in almost every situation. Besides just finding phone calls awkward and stilted (what with calls cutting in and out and painful bouts of silence), most of my disdain stems from total lack of manners displayed by the vast majority of people using their cell phones out in the general public . I’m sorry, but at 6 a.m. nobody on the bus wants to hear the play-by-play of last night’s blind date (“I can’t believe he thought Nick’s Crispy Taco’s was a good place to go!”). Call your girlfriends during your lunch break or IM them (a novel idea)! I also love the snippets of conversation I hear out of the mouths of babes (that’s young folks for the uninitiated)…my hopes for the future of the nation are swiftly extinguished by sentence formulations containing one of the worst all purpose words of recent vintage and enough f-bombs to make a sailor blush. I’m also amazed by what topics people will speak freely about in front of strangers…I’m sure it’s fascinating that both you and your sister hate your mother-in-law because she’s a conniving bitch, but please save that conversation for when you get home…the 41 will have you back in the Marina in mere moments.

Updated to add:
This is a smart comment, and one I find myself in agreement with, over at Megan McArdle’s place:

It’s about control, and speed of information uptake. Reading is prefereable to listening because you can consume at whatever rate maxes out your ablity to take in info. Phonecalls disclose their data at whatever leisurely pace the other speaker feels like talking, and they tend to prevent much multitasking. With emails and text messages, you’re not subject to the conversational whims of the other person, you can drop them for anything else more pressing, and you can just communicate faster overall.

Bloggers and blog consumers alike–we’re just higher bandwidth people. Do you sit down and watch CNN, or do you have it on in the background with a computer on your lap? That’s the test.

~ by uvasig on March 11, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
