Recent Culinary Adventures

Because I spend so much money eating out, I recently decided that I should learn how to cook in order to save some funds (going to Europe in May ain’t gonna be cheap). Because I don’t have much kitchen experience, I was worried about either burning down the kitchen or producing food that was inedible (or both). I’m happy to say, however, that my initial forays have produced encouraging (and tasty!) results. Below are links to some of the dishes I’ve prepared, in whole or in part:

Steak Tacos w/homemade lime creama

Spaghetti Carbonara

Steak and potatoes

The peanut butter cookies at the end of this recipe

Baked Polenta with Sausage

Italian Breakfast Sandwich

Catfish Sloppy Joe’s

Garlic Bread

Blackened Chicken Pizza with Yellow Tomato Salsa

From the above, the spaghetti carbonara is the only one I prepared solely for myself and while it was good, I think it required just a bit more technique and timing than I have at this point. The steak tacos and the peanut butter cookies where big hits all around, as was the Italian Breakfast sandwich (not healthy, but oh so good). More culinary adventures to come soon!

~ by uvasig on March 9, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
